History of Danish Nutrition Society

Danish Nutrition Society (SfE) was founded on the 21st of February 1967 at a statutory general meeting initiated by Professor Dr. Phil. Henrik Dam, who was also chosen as the Society’s first President.

The vision of SfE was to promote the understanding and studies of nutrition-related topics and have Danish research officially represented in international contexts. SfE is a member of the International Union of Nutritional Sciences (IUNS) and Federation of European Nutritional Sciences (FENS).

Danish Nutrition Society was up until 1983 connected with Biologisk Selskab through joint memberships, contingents and meetings, but has since then been an independent society with own statutes.

Members of SfE has since 1983 represented all aspects of Danish nutrition science, research and education. In the beginning, approximately eight meetings were held annually, primarily as lectures by internationally recognized Danish or foreign researchers.

In 1992, the 25th anniversary of the society was marked and celebrated with a series of different speeches and symposiums.

SfE has since 1995 hosted its Annual Meeting, a full-day event often taking place in spring, where the society invites a series of scientists, researchers and professionals to address relevant topics within the field of nutrition. It is also at the Annual Meeting where master and PhD student members of the society are invited to present their abstracts. 


Presidents of SfE

2020-2022  Lektor. Camilla T. Damsgaard 

2011-2019  Prof. Susanne Gjedsted Bügel

2008          Prof. Harald Severin Hansen

2001          Forskningchef Inge Tetens

1993          Læge Lars Ovesen

1981          Prof. Dr. Phil. Erik Aaes-Jørgensen

1979          Overlæge Dr. Med. Erling S. Olesen

1976          Prof. Dr. Phil. Erik Aaes-Jørgensen

1975          Prof. Dr. Phil. Henrik Dam

1971          Prof. Dr. Phil. Erik Aaes-Jørgensen

1967          Prof. Dr. Phil. Henrik Dam